How does the recent privacy controls redesign affect my existing settings?

As of September 26th, 2018, we simplified our privacy settings so the controls are easier to understand.

Did my privacy settings change?

No. In making these changes, our team made sure that your existing settings would transfer over to the new layout without any functional changes. In other words, your privacy selections on Strava have not changed.

  • What is Enhanced Privacy now called and how does it work?
    • If enabled, Enhanced Privacy allows our members to determine who can follow them and view their complete profile page. It is not a determinant of whether an activity is public, private, or visible only to followers.
    • In our new design, you can set your Privacy Controls for your Profile Page to “Followers”. This is the equivalent of Enhanced Privacy. Learn more
  • What is Group Activity Enhanced Privacy now called and how does it work?
    • If enabled, Group Activity Enhanced Privacy makes it so only your followers and those you follow can see that you are part of a group activity.
    • In our new design, you can set your Privacy Controls for Group Activities to “Followers”. This is the equivalent of enabling Group Activity Enhanced Privacy. Learn more.
  • What is Hide from Flybys now called and how does it work?
    • If enabled, Hide from Flybys prevents your activities from appearing in the Strava Labs Flybys feature.
    • In our new design, you can set your Privacy Controls for Flybys to “No One”. This is the equivalent of enabling “Hide from Flybys”. Learn more.
  • What is Hide from Metro and Heatmap now called and how does it work?
    • If enabled, Hide from Metro and Heatmap prevents your activities from appearing in the Strava Heatmap and Metro.
    • In our new design, you can set your Privacy Controls to disable the contribution of your data to Metro and Heatmap using the Metro and Heatmap control. This is the equivalent to enabling “Hide from Metro and Heatmap”.  Learn more.
  • What is Hide from Segment and Challenge Leaderboards now called and how does it work
    • If enabled, this setting removes your activity from public leaderboards. It also prevents non-followers from accessing that activity details page.
    • In our new design, you can set your Privacy Controls for your Activities to “Followers”. This is the equivalent of enabling “Hide from Segment and Challenge leaderboards”. Learn more.
  • What is Private by Default now called and how does it work?
    • Private by Default automatically makes all new uploads “private” (only visible to you) regardless of whether they are syncing from our mobile app, a 3rd party device, or direct file upload.
    • In our new design, you can set your Privacy Controls for your Activities to “Only You”. This is the equivalent of “Private by Default.” Learn more.

You can read more about the change by visiting our blog or privacy center. Otherwise, please reference the table below to see how your previous settings have transferred to the new settings.

 

Old Setting Name

Options

→ Translates to →

New Setting Name

Options

Enhanced Privacy

Off

Profile Page

Everyone

On

Followers

Group Activity Enhanced Privacy

Off

Group Activities

Everyone

On

Followers

Hide from Flybys

Off

Flyby

Everyone

On

No One

Hide from Metro and Heatmap

Off

Hide from Metro and Heatmap

Off

On

On



Private by Default

Hide from Segment and Challenge Leaderboards

Translates To

Activities

On

On

Only You

On

Off

Only You

Off

On

Followers

Off

Off

Everyone

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 6 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.