The activity privacy setting on Strava controls who can view an activity and access its details page.
What Is Your Activity Details Page?
Your activity details page displays comprehensive data about your activity on the Strava website or mobile app. It includes your activity's date and time, statistics, biometrics, analysis charts, map, segment matches, achievements, times, and elevation profile, among other metrics.
Activities set to "Followers" and "Only You" will not be eligible for public segment leaderboards and may not be eligible for some challenges or achievements.
To appear on a public segment leaderboard, your activity must be set to "Everyone." See below for more information on managing your privacy controls.
No matter what privacy controls you choose for your activity, you can always see your segment times on your activity page.
Some challenges will require activities to be set to "Everyone." Be sure to familiarize yourself with the Challenge Official Rules located on the challenge page. See below for more information on managing your privacy controls.
How to Change Your Activity Privacy Controls
Changing Your Default Preference
Your default preference is the setting used on any new activities uploaded to your account. Updating this setting does not retroactively change the privacy controls on past activities.
On the web, go to your Settings page by hovering over your profile picture in the top right and selecting "Settings," then click on "Privacy Controls" on the left side of the page.
In the mobile app, open Settings from the icon in the upper-right corner of the You tab. From Settings, select "Privacy Controls."
Select "Everyone," "Followers," or "Only You" under "Activities."
Adjusting Individual Activities
You can adjust the privacy control for an individual activity to differ from your account's default preference. The individual activity privacy controls are also available on the upload page on mobile and web.
On the web, open the relevant activity and click the pencil icon. Choose between "Everyone," "Only You," or "Followers" under "Privacy Controls."
In the mobile app, open the relevant activity and tap the three-dot icon, then tap Edit Activity. Scroll down to "Visibility" and choose between "Everyone," "Only You," and "Followers."
What Are Your Controls?
Your activity privacy controls allow you to restrict access to your activity details page to "Everyone," "Followers," or "Only You." You can also set a default preference so that your activities automatically upload with this selection and/or change the visibility of individual activities.
When You Select Everyone
All Strava athletes (unless blocked):
Will have full access to this page. Your activity's start time and bicycle are never displayed to athletes who don't follow you. Your activity's photos will be visible to athletes who don't follow you if you set your profile privacy control to "Everyone." Set your profile to "Followers" to hide your photos from athletes who don't follow you.
The activity will appear on leaderboards for segments and challenges. Other users can navigate to your activity details and profile pages from these leaderboards.
Anyone on the web:
If your Profile Page privacy control is set to "Everyone":
Will see a logged-out version of your activity page, which will include activity, distance, elevation, moving time, calories, photos, map, elevation profile, kudos, comments, and an achievement count.
If your Profile Page privacy control is set to "Followers":
Will not be able to view your activity without logging in to your Strava account.
The activity will contribute to Strava Metro and the Global Heatmap by default. To opt out, uncheck the box that contributes to community-powered features under "Product Improvement" on your account's Privacy Controls settings page.
When You Select Followers
Your followers on Strava:
Will have full access to this page. This includes your start time (unless you've hidden it on specific activities), photos, and gear.
The activity will not appear publicly on leaderboards for segments or challenges that contain a leaderboard. You and your followers will still see segment matches and your corresponding times on your activity details page.
Strava athletes who do not follow you:
Will not be able to access your activity or see figures for the activity in the cumulative statistics on your profile page.
No one on the web:
Will see a logged-out version of your activity. If a logged-out web user tries to access an activity with the "Followers" control enabled, they will be redirected to a sign-in or create-account page.
The activity will contribute to Strava Metro by default. To opt out, uncheck the box that contributes to community-powered features under "Product Improvement" on your account's Privacy Controls settings page.
When You Select Only You
You are the only person who can access the activity details page.
The activity will not appear on your profile or club feeds as a summary, nor will it appear on any public leaderboards.
Other athletes will not see the activity contribute to your profile statistics.
If it counts toward a challenge, other athletes may see updates on your progress via the challenge progress bar on the mobile profile page.
You will still see segment matches and your corresponding times on your activity details page.