Manage Followers and Block Athletes

Unfollowing an Athlete

If you unfollow another Strava athlete, you will no longer see their activities, challenge progress, posts, or other actions displayed in the activity feed. You may not be able to view certain aspects of their profile page, their activities, or whether they were part of a grouped activity depending on the athlete's privacy controls.

You can unfollow a Strava athlete from your list of followers or their profile page.

  • On the website
    • From your profile page, select the Following tab. Place your cursor over the Following button next to the athlete you want to unfollow to reveal the orange Unfollow button.
    • From the profile of the athlete that you'd like to unfollow, place your cursor over the Following button under their location to reveal the orange Unfollow button.
  • On the mobile app
    • From your profile page, tap on your follower count. Select the Following button next to the athlete you want to unfollow to reveal the drop-down menu and select Unfollow from the bottom.
    • From the profile of the athlete that you'd like to unfollow, tap on Following from the right side of your screen to reveal the drop-down menu, and select Unfollow from the bottom.

Removing a Follower

If you remove an existing follower, your activities, challenge progress, and other actions will no longer be displayed in their activity feed. They will also no longer be able to see any aspects of your account that are visible to only your followers.

  • On the mobile app:
    • Navigate to the profile page of the athlete you would like to remove as a follower.
    • Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner and select Remove From Followers.
  • On the website:
    • From your profile page, select the Following tab. Select Following Me from the drop-down menu.
    • Click on the gear icon next to the follower you wish to remove and select Remove Follower.
    • Confirm that you would like to remove the follower.

Please keep in mind that this action does not prevent the athlete from following you or requesting to follow you again.

Blocking an Athlete

Blocking an athlete does the following:

  • Removes them from your list of Followers.
  • Removes you from their Follower's list and activity feeds.
  • Prevents them from following you again or accessing your activity details page.
  • Hides all profile details from them with the exception of your name and bio. Your profile photo will appear to a blocked athlete in other locations such as leaderboards.
  • Someone you've blocked will be able to see your activity entry (summary) in public areas like club leaderboards, challenge leaderboards, segment leaderboards, and segment explore; however, the blocked athlete will not be able to access your activity if they click on it.
  • Removing or blocking a follower does not send a notification to the athlete.
  • Hides your comments from them and hides their comments from you.
  • Hides club events from you when they are the organizer and hides club events from them when you are the organizer.

How to Block an Athlete:

  • On the website 
    • From your profile page, select the Following tab. Select Following Me from the dropdown menu.
    • Click the gear icon and select Block Athlete.
    • Confirm that you would like to block the athlete. 
  • On the mobile app
    • From the profile of the athlete that you'd like to block, tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner and select Block this Athlete.

If you wish to unblock an athlete, you can do so by clicking Unblock next to the athlete's name on a list of blocked accounts. You can view this list in the following place:

  • On the website
    • Hover over your profile picture in the upper right and select My Profile from the dropdown menu.
    • Click the Following tab from the options underneath your profile summary.
    • Click I’m Following to open up a dropdown menu and select Blocked Athletes. Note that this option will only be visible if you have blocked at least one other athlete.
  • On the mobile app, open your settings by tapping the icon in the upper right of the You tab.
      • Tap Privacy Controls > Blocked Accounts.
Was this article helpful?
16 out of 51 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.