Skip to main content

How Does Strava Use My Synced Contacts and Connections?

Learn how Strava uses your synced phone contacts for Beacon safety messages, suggested follows, and Find Friends, and how you can remove your contacts.

Written by Marie

You can choose to provide information from your phone's contact book to Strava. Here is how we use that information.

Strava Beacon

Strava Beacon is a feature that lets you share your live location, tracked in the Strava app, with your chosen safety contacts. To designate safety contacts, you will need to allow Strava to access your phone’s contact book and choose the contacts you want to share Beacon information with. Strava will send an SMS message to your safety contact’s number with a link to view your live location via a webpage when you start Beacon during an activity.

Removing Strava’s access to your contact book does not automatically remove your Beacon safety contacts. You can manage your Beacon safety contacts by selecting Beacon from the Settings menu.

Community Connections

We also promote Strava's community experience through social connections. When you permit Strava to access your phone’s contact book, we store your contact book to suggest users you can follow and give you an easy way to invite your contacts to join Strava:

  • Strava will show you your contacts who are already on Strava so that you can easily follow them. You can find them under the Contacts tab under Search on iOS and Android. We do this by identifying other Strava athletes whose Strava account email address or phone number is contained in your contact book.

  • Strava will also show you other suggested follows—athletes we think you may know—based on information you’ve provided us from your phone’s contact book. Strava shows Suggested Follows in the Strava feed, under the Suggested tab under Search on iOS and Android, and from time to time in emails.

  • Strava will also display contacts who are not yet Strava members in the Contacts section of the Friends tab on iOS and Android. You may choose to invite those contacts to join Strava using a method you choose or by having Strava send an email invitation on your behalf.

Address Book Connections

When you provide your phone's address book to Strava, Strava stores your entire list of address book connections and displays them in two ways. First, on our "Find Friends" page under the Contacts tab, we show you your address book contacts who are on Strava so you can easily follow them. We do this by identifying any other Strava athletes whose Strava account email address or phone number is contained in the phone address book you provided to Strava.

Second, on our "Find Friends" page in the Strava mobile app, you'll also find a list of your contacts who aren't Strava members. You may choose whether to invite any of them to join Strava using a method you choose, or by having Strava send the email on your behalf. If you choose to have Strava email your contacts who aren't Strava members, we include the option for those contacts to unsubscribe from further email correspondence from Strava.

Suggested Follows

Suggested follows are athletes we think you may know based on the information you've provided to us from your phone's address book, or based on inferences about who your mutual friends are. For example, if Athlete A and Athlete B both follow Athlete C but don't follow each other, we'd suggest that Athlete A follow Athlete B, and vice versa. Or, if Athlete A syncs her phone's address book with Strava and it includes the email address or phone number associated with Athlete B, we may suggest to both Athletes A and B that they follow each other.

We promote "Suggested follows" in the Strava feed, on the "Find Friends" page under the Suggested Follows tab, and via email.

Other Ways You Can See Your Connections

Suggested follows are generated for you even if you haven't synced your own address book. If the email address or phone number associated with your Strava account is present in the address book connections of another Strava athlete who chooses to provide their address book to Strava, we will suggest that you follow this athlete.

If you're registered to Strava with an email address that's in the address book of someone who has synced their address book to Strava, we'll notify that person that you're on Strava, and we may suggest that they follow you.

How Strava Accesses Your Contacts, and How to Prevent It

Address Book

  • You can give Strava access to your contact book via the Contacts section of the Settings Page and your device settings. You have the option to sync your address book during account creation or at any point after your account has been created. Until you revoke access to your contact book, we continue to sync your contacts regularly when you open the app to be able to provide you with up-to-date recommendations.

  • You can remove your contact book connections from further syncing and storage by Strava by visiting the Contacts section of the Settings Page in the mobile app and your device settings.

  • Please note that removing Strava’s access to your contact book does not automatically remove your Beacon safety contacts. You can manage your Beacon safety contacts by selecting Beacon from the Settings menu.

How Strava Uses a Non-User’s Information

When an athlete grants Strava access to their contact book, Strava accesses and uploads names, emails, and phone numbers from the contact book. Until a user changes this access permission, Strava will regularly sync the contact book (for example, once every seven days) when a user opens the app. This information may include users of Strava, as well as contacts who are not users of Strava or do not have an account (“Non-Users”).

The way Strava uses this information depends on why a Strava user has granted access to their contact book:

  • Strava Beacon: Strava may contact a Non-User using their name, phone number, or email, with Beacon SMS messages if the Non-User has been designated as a safety contact by a Strava user. Learn more about Beacon here.

  • Community Connections: When a Strava user uploads their contact book, the user can invite Non-Users to join Strava via text or email. Strava may also use contact book information to suggest a new user as a suggested follow and to suggest athletes to newly joined Strava athletes.

In addition to the purposes described above, Strava may use or share Non-User information if we are required to for legal reasons like responding to a legal request or litigation and regulatory matters; if reasonably necessary to prevent death, serious bodily injury, or other significant harm; to address issues of national security or other issues of public importance; to prevent or detect violations of our Terms or fraud or abuse of Strava or its users; to protect our operations or our property or other legal rights, including in connection with actual or potential litigation; and with Strava subsidiaries for the purposes described above. Strava retains Non-User information for as long as needed to fulfill these purposes.

We process this information based on our and our users’ legitimate interests, including to provide our services and help our users connect.

Non-Users may exercise their rights under applicable laws by contacting us at [email protected]. You can learn more about privacy rights that may apply and Strava’s Privacy Policy here.

FAQs

How can I turn off suggested follows?

There currently is not an option to remove suggested follows in its entirety from the feed at this time.

How can I remove all my contacts from Strava?

You can remove your contact book connections from being processed by Strava by visiting the Contacts Permission menu from the Settings page in the mobile app. Please note that removing Strava’s access to your contact book does not automatically remove your Beacon safety contacts. You can manage your Beacon safety contacts by selecting Beacon from the Settings menu.

How do I remove a particular athlete from Suggested Follows?

Use the 'X' in the top right corner of a card for a suggestion in the feed module if you wish to remove a suggested follow. This is not permanent and will only remove the suggestion for 28 days.

What if I'm Seeing Suggested Follows, but I've Only Synced Contacts for Beacon?

Beacon does not use your address book for any purpose other than sending a safety message to your contacts. Please refer to the section above titled "Other Ways You Can See Your Connections" to learn more about how we suggest friends using information that other athletes have provided.

Did this answer your question?