Skip to main content

How Does Strava Use My Health Data?

Learn how Strava collects and uses your health data, such as heart rate, and how to allow or deny Strava's use of that data on the app or website today.

Strava collects and uses health data (such as heart rate) from sensors, devices, or apps that you've connected to Strava or that you submit directly to Strava. We use this data to provide features such as performance insights.

Allowing Strava to Use Health Data

Permission to use the health data can be provided in the Strava app or on the Strava website:

Strava App:

  1. From the You tab, go to "Settings" and select "Health Data."

  2. From the Health Data settings page, tap the "Health-Related Data" option and select the "Allow" option.

Strava Website:

  1. Hover your mouse over your profile image in the upper right corner of the screen and select "Settings."

  2. Click on the Data Permissions option in the left-hand sidebar on the Settings page.

  3. Click on the green "Allow Access" button.

Denying Strava's Use of Your Health Data

Strava will not use your health data to provide features or services if you deny consent. Note, however, that Strava may still receive, collect, and store your health data. For example, this can happen if you upload activities to Strava that contain heart rate information.

When you upload an activity that contains health data, such as heart rate, we may ask whether you'd like to update your settings.

Change Your Mind?

Updating your settings will only affect whether Strava uses your health data going forward. If you decide to deny use of health data, already uploaded activities that include health data (such as heart rate) will remain unchanged. Similarly, if you decide to allow Strava to use your health data, you won't be able to add health data to any activities uploaded while your settings were set to deny access.

If you recorded with a GPS device from another company and your original files contain health data, you may be able to re-upload them to Strava. This will replace any existing versions of that activity, so please keep in mind that all kudos, comments, and photos associated with the original activity will be deleted.

Did this answer your question?