Merging Duplicate Accounts

If your Strava account suddenly looks blank or your past activities seem to be missing, it's possible that you accidentally created a duplicate Strava account

How do I know if I created a duplicate account?

It's not possible for a single email address to be used with more than one Strava so another email address would have been used to create the duplicate. You may have entered your email address with a typo (most common) or used a different address like an older personal, work, or school email address on the login page. To review the email address associated with your Strava account, navigate to your profile and select Edit on the mobile app or Profile photo > Settings on the Stava website.

How do I find the account the correct Strava account?

There are a few ways you can try and locate your original account:

  • Do you know of any email addresses you may have used to sign up? It's possible the profile was created using an older personal/work/school email address.
  • You may be able to locate your account by looking at athletes you were following or that were following you. Look for comments or kudos given from your correct account, activities that you matched with, etc.
  • Do you have any emails from Strava that have a link to an activity of yours? This may be an email about a friend giving you a kudo or comment.
  • Was your account upgraded to Premium? If you submit a support ticket, we may be able to locate the original transaction and use that to find your account.
  • Try Googling your profile name + Strava (Example: "Johnny Appleseed Strava"). Google does store web URL's for a period of time, and you may be able to find a link to your profile page this way.

Deactivating a duplicate account with no uploaded data

If you know you have a duplicate account that contains no personal data or uploads you wish to keep, Log into that account and proceed with the Deactivation instructions found here

Deactivating a duplicate account with uploaded data you wish to Transfer or Export

If you have multiple accounts that each contain unique data, you may wish to consolidate all your data to one account, the one you wish to keep. Or, you can simply export any data you wish to keep for your records before deactivating your account.

To transfer data from one account to another account:

  1. Log into the account FROM WHICH you would like to transfer data.
  2. Follow these instructions to bulk export the data on this account. 
  3. Log into the account that you would like to transfer the data TO (the account you will keep).
  4. Go to "Upload Activity" and "Upload a file from your computer". Navigate to where the bulk exported data was saved, and upload.

Once you have transferred all your activity to your primary account that you will keep, log back into the now duplicate account to close, and proceed with the Deactivation instructions.
If you have any questions about this process, please proceed with submitting a support ticket. Deactivating your account is PERMANENT and cannot be undone. 

Was this article helpful?
39 out of 44 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.